Walker requests Federal Disaster Designation for 23 counties

Gov. Walker today requested a Federal Disaster Designation for 23 Wisconsin counties due to significant damages suffered from the ongoing drought conditions.  Under the designation, Wisconsin farmers could apply for emergency loans through the Farm Service Agency.

"Agriculture is the backbone of Wisconsin's economy.  The extreme drought conditions across much of the state had a major effect on our farming community," Walker said.  "The recent rainfall in some areas is not nearly enough to make up for the weeks of dry weather combined with heat and humidity.  We need to do everything we can to expedite the process.”

The counties named in the request are Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Kenosha, Lafayette, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Walworth, Washington, and Waukesha.

 With more hot and dry weather in the forecast, Walker said more counties could be added to the request for a Federal Designation.