Edgewood Honors Three Women MBA Alums

Three female graduates of the Edgewood College business school were honored this week during the college’s 3rd annual MBA Distinguished Alumni Awards ceremony.

During the program, held at the Nakoma Golf Club, MBA Distinguished Alumni Awards went to: Pamela Bean (Class of 2000), executive director of research at Rogers Memorial Hospital in Oconomowoc; Beth Curley (1995), private banking manager in M&I Bank’s wealth management division; and Mary Linton (2000), director of enterprise solutions for Promega Corp.

Martin Preizler, director of graduate programs at Edgewood, noted that 44% of the current Edgewood MBA students are women, which is quite a change from his days as a student in the School of Business at UW-Madison. Then, there was about one woman for every 100 men, “and we all tried to find a seat close to her,” he joked.

Preizler described Bean, Curley, and Linton as talented, accomplished women representing the best that Edgewood has to offer.

At Rogers Memorial Hospital in Oconomowoc, Bean is pioneering the development of best practices and evidence-based procedures to measure treatment outcomes in programs that treat alcohol addiction, eating disorders, and mental illnesses.

Curley has served in a number of roles in the financial services industry, and is involved in a number of philanthropic organizations, including Child Development, Inc., Ronald McDonald House Charities, and the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure.

Linton, an accountant by training, has demonstrated professional flexibility at Promega, where she moves throughout the organization in a variety of leadership and decision-support roles.

“These three women represent a change that has gradually occurred in our economy until we have recently reached a point where there are more women working in the U.S. than men,” Preizler noted, “and there are more women in executive and leadership positions.”

Edgewood also presented Outstanding MBA Faculty Awards to Professors Pat Hallinan and Bruce Roberts, and announced its 2009 MBA Scholarship recipients. Scholarship awards went to James O’Brien (Student Service Award) and Sawitree Tuntra-Ampai (Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren Scholarship), and to Jordon Geiger, Ekaterina Kashaeva, Jason Oswald, Eric Neal, Sara Sieb, and Kenneth Spuda.